CLINICAL EXAMPLES

Here you will find an overview of significant clinical examples in connection with the Arteriograph device.

 

In contrast to isolated systolic hypertension (ISH) in old age, systolic blood pressure increase in boys is caused by a strong so-called amplification (benign increase) of the pressure wave from the thoracic aorta to the measurement point in the arm artery. Using pulse wave analysis with arteriograph, amplification values of up to 60 mmHg can be measured. Large, slim, athletic adolescents and young men are particularly affected. The increased amplification is an expression of particular vascular elasticity and/or increased heart beat volume (ejection capacity of the heart) with low or normal blood pressure in the thoracic aorta. The prognosis is accordingly good and a blood pressure-lowering therapy is not necessary according to the guidelines.

20- year old man: 188cm, BMI 22kg/m2

 146/61 mmHg

Brachial blood pressure:

Central aortic blood pressure:

118 mmHg

6,5 m/s

Pulse wave velocity:

Screenshot 2019-09-20 at 21.24.18.png

Original image of the pulse wave from the Arteriograph software

 

Atheroscleorsis

In contrast to isolated systolic hypertension (ISH) in old age, systolic blood pressure increase in boys is caused by a strong so-called amplification (benign increase) of the pressure wave from the thoracic aorta to the measurement point in the arm artery. Using pulse wave analysis with arteriograph, amplification values of up to 60 mmHg can be measured. Large, slim, athletic adolescents and young men are particularly affected. The increased amplification is an expression of particular vascular elasticity and/or increased heart beat volume (ejection capacity of the heart) with low or normal blood pressure in the thoracic aorta. The prognosis is accordingly good and a blood pressure-lowering therapy is not necessary according to the guidelines.

SCORE.png

However, the results of the examination performed with the arteriograph show an increased central systolic blood pressure (SBPao), an increased pulse pressure of the aorta (PPao), an increased central augmentation index (AIXao), a reduced diastolic reflectance range (DRA) and a reduced diastolic range index (DAI) (see Figure 5).

Arterosklerose1.png

The pulse wave velocity of the aorta is increased to 12 m/s (see Figure 6). The patient's PWVao is beyond the 95th percentile, indicating early vascular aging (EVA = Early Vascular Aging).

Atherosklerose2.png

Considering that the high pulse wave velocity is a sign of vascular aging and our scientific findings show that at a sensitivity of 76%, an aortal pulse wave velocity above 9 m/s leads to asymptomatic carotid atherosclerosis (plaques), a carotid ultrasound examination was performed (see Figure 4).

Atherosklerose4.png

The carotid ultrasound showed atherosclerotic plaques. Since atherosclerosis is a systemic disease of the middle and large arteries, we can assume that the coronary arteries can also be affected by arteriosclerosis.

Atherosklerose3.png

Therefore, it was suggested to the patient to perform a computed tomography of the coronary arteries. The heart CT showed several plaques of the coronary arteries (see markings in figure).

Products & Education

Information

Call back: I am intereseted in Arteriograph

Careberri UG (haftungsbeschränkt)

Marie-Curie-Straße 6

85055 Ingolstadt

Tel: +49 151 5783 4883

Email: info@arteriograph.de

©2020 by Careberri Pulswellenanalyse

Information

Careberri UG (haftungsbeschränkt)

Marie-Curie-Straße 6

85055 Ingolstadt

Tel: +49 151 5783 4883

Email: info@arteriograph.de

Rückruf: Ich habe Interesse an dem Arteriographen

©2019 by Careberri Pulswellenanalyse

KLINISCHE BEISPIELE

Hier erhalten Sie einen Überblick von aussagekräftigen klinischen Beispiele in Zusammenhang mit dem Arteriograph-Gerät.

 

Im Gegensatz zur isolierten systolischen Hypertonie (ISH) im Alter ist die systolische Blutdruckerhöhung bei den Jungen bedingt durch eine starke sog. Amplifikation (gutartige Erhöhung) der Druckwelle von der Brustaorta zum Messpunkt in der Armarterie. Mittels Pulswellenanalyse mit Arteriograph können Amplifikationswerte bis zu 60 mmHg gemessen werden. Betroffen sind insbesondere große, schlanke sportliche Jugendliche und junge Männer. Die erhöhte Amplifikation ist Ausdruck einer besonderen Gefäßelastizität und/oder eines erhöhten Herzschlagvolumens (Auswurfleistung des Herzens) bei niedrigem oder normalem Blutdruck in der Brustaorta. Die Prognose ist dementsprechend gut und eine Blutdruck senkende Therapie ist den Leitlinien entsprechend nicht erforderlich.

20- Jähriger Mann: 188cm, BMI 22kg/m2

 146/61 mmHg

Brachialer Blutdruck:

Zentraler aortaler Blutdruck:

118 mmHg

6,5 m/s

Pulswellengeschwindigkeit:

Screenshot 2019-09-20 at 21.24.18.png

Originalabbildung der Pulswelle aus der Arteriograph-Software

 

Atheroskleorse

Im Gegensatz zur isolierten systolischen Hypertonie (ISH) im Alter ist die systolische Blutdruckerhöhung bei den Jungen bedingt durch eine starke sog. Amplifikation (gutartige Erhöhung) der Druckwelle von der Brustaorta zum Messpunkt in der Armarterie. Mittels Pulswellenanalyse mit Arteriograph können Amplifikationswerte bis zu 60 mmHg gemessen werden. Betroffen sind insbesondere große, schlanke sportliche Jugendliche und junge Männer. Die erhöhte Amplifikation ist Ausdruck einer besonderen Gefäßelastizität und/oder eines erhöhten Herzschlagvolumens (Auswurfleistung des Herzens) bei niedrigem oder normalem Blutdruck in der Brustaorta. Die Prognose ist dementsprechend gut und eine Blutdruck senkende Therapie ist den Leitlinien entsprechend nicht erforderlich.

SCORE.png

Die Ergebnisse der durchgeführten Untersuchung mit dem Arteriograph weisen jedoch einen erhöhten zentralen systolischen Blutdruck (SBPao), einen erhöhten Pulsdruck der Aorta (PPao), einen erhöhten zentralen Augmentationsindex (AIXao), einen verringerten diastolischen Reflexionsbereich (DRA) und einen verringerten diastolischen Bereichsindex (DAI) auf (siehe Abbildung 5).

Arterosklerose1.png

Die Pulswellengeschwindigkeit der Aorta ist mit 12 m/s erhöht (siehe Abbildung 6). Die PWVao des Patienten liegt jenseits der 95ten Perzentile; das spricht für eine frühe vaskuläre Gefäßalterung (EVA = Early Vascular Aging).

Atherosklerose2.png

In Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass die hohe Pulswellengeschwindigkeit ein Zeichen für vaskuläre Alterung ist und unsere wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse zeigen, dass bei einer Sensitivität von 76% eine aortale Pulswellengeschwindigkeit über 9 m/s zu asymptomatischen Karotis-Atherosklerose (Plaques) führen, wurde eine Karotis-Ultraschalluntersuchung durchgeführt (siehe Abbildung 4).

Atherosklerose4.png

Der Karotis-Ultraschall zeigte atherosklerotische Plaques. Da die Atherosklerose eine systemische Erkrankung der mittleren und großen Arterien ist, können wir davon ausgehen, dass auch die Koronararterien von Arteriosklerose betroffen sein können.

Atherosklerose3.png

Daher wurde dem Patienten vorgeschlagen, eine Computertomographie der Koronararterien durchzuführen. Die Herz-CT zeigte mehrere Plaques der Herzkranzarterien (siehe Markierungen in Abbildung).